Nude beaches, Yay or Nay?

I started thinking about nude beaches and if I would ever have the courage to take off my bathing suit top.

Most people think there aren’t any nude beaches in the U.S…wrong. There are actually nude beaches in 12 different states across the country. In fact there are several locations within these states where they find it perfectly acceptable to be completely exposed.

But it doesn’t mean the rest of the state doesn’t disagree. Florida, along with other states must deal with nudity laws which cause these resorts to become private. ” Florida can no longer cover up the naked truth. Nude and clothing-optional resorts are taking off,” according to Dawn Henthorn, a About.com guide.

Do people really go to nude beaches just to better their tan? I think not. I think it’s just another way for people to flaunt their goodies and make some new friends.

Could this exposure when in our birthday suits put men and women on an equal level? Does this exposure increase confidence for certain women, because I don’t think I could handle a total stranger checking me out topless?

3 Comments

Filed under Public Appearances

3 responses to “Nude beaches, Yay or Nay?

  1. Cari Crabtree

    I’d go! And I’d bring lots of high-SPF sunscreen to protect the skin that’s never seen UV rays.
    I think you’d have to try it in order to make a judgement. If every woman is topless, I imagine that it would seem rather ordinary. Like being naked in a locker room.
    I think that for being as scandalous as America is, deep down most people are prudes (blame it on our Puritan background?). Maybe some refreshing openness about our bodies is what women need.
    Being topless or naked in European spas, pools and beach scenes is completely normal and rather liberating, I think.

  2. I agree with Cari. What I find interesting about the idea of nude beaches is how everyone who visits them insists that there isn’t really anything sexual about them. I believe that too because from what I understand of nude beaches, they aren’t always frequented by the hottest of hotties, but I think that’s totally cool! It’s so true though, the way sex is ever present in every way in our society totally contrasts with the fact that you can’t even wear a thong in Ocean City. Not that I plan on it, but still…

  3. shannonkemp

    I think it should be within everyone’s preference as to whether or not they want to go to a nude beach. I understand that it is not for everyone, but that doesn’t mean it shouldn’t be allowed. Some people are just more comfortable in their own skin then others.

Leave a Reply

